Arizona landscape

KUSD Exceptional Student Service

The mission of the Kayenta Exceptional Student Services is to provide effective services to students while supporting the educational community that ensures lifelong learners.

Our Goal

 Our goal is to make general education accessible for all students that prepares them to be productive and well-rounded citizens, which includes: social/emotional, cognitive, physical, and spiritual well-being.

Special education is defined by the specially designed instruction developed to meet the unique needs of a student with a disability. Students with disabilities are those students evaluated and found eligible as having:

  • Autism
  • Developmental Delay (until age 10)
  • Emotional Disability
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Mild/Moderate Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Multiple Disabilities with Severe Sensory Impairment
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Preschool Severe Delay
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech/Language Impairment (including preschool age)
  • Severe Intellectual Disability
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment

KUSD Child Find

Child Find is a continuous process of public awareness activities, screening, and evaluation designed to locate, identify, and refer as early as possible all young children with disabilities and their families who are in need of Early Intervention Program (Part C) or preschool special education (Part B/619) services.

KUSD #27 Child Find Schedule:

  • August 16, 2019
  • September 27, 2019
  • November 15, 2019
  • December 13, 2019
  • January 24, 2020
  • March 13, 2020
  • April 24, 2020
  • May 15, 2020

Exceptional Student Services Staff

Marcella Clark
ESS Director
marcella.clark@kayenta.k12.az.us
(928) 697.2403

Laverne June
Administrative Assistant
laverne.june@kayenta.k12.az.us
(928) 697.2400

Lenora Begay
SLP Assistant
lenora.begay@kayenta.k12.az.us

Paulson Bronston
District Health Specialist
paulson.bronston@kayenta.k12.az.us
(928) 697.2402

Elvina Charley
School Psychologist
elvina.charley@kayenta.k12.az.us
(928) 697.2405

Tom Cosner
Physical Therapist
cosnert@gmail.com
(928) 380.7423

Laura Delmar
KECE SAT Chairperson
laura.delmar@kayenta.k12.az.us
(928) 697.2408

Audrelia Dugi
MVHS SAT Chairperson
audrelia.dugi@kayenta.k12.az.us
(928) 697.2119

William Gibson
Gifted Team Lead
William.Gibson@kusd27.org

Terri Hall
KMS Chairperson
terri.hall@kayenta.k12.az.us
(928) 697.2205

Anna Interpreter
Health KMS
anna.interpreter@kayenta.k12.az.us

Alissa Jones
Physical Therapist
alissa4jones@gmail.com
(928) 779.1679

Ashley Jones
SLP Tele-Therapist
ashley.jones.sda@gmail.com

Charlee Kee
SLP Assistant
charlee.kee@kayenta.k12.az.us

Paul Kionka
Occupational Therapist
paul.kionka@kayenta.k12.az.us

Lauryn Maxwell
Physical Therapist
laurynmaxwellpt@gmail.com
(480) 250.7473

Joanne Motko
HI Teacher
joanne.motko@asdb.az.us
(928) 614.8016

Tina Oliver
Health MVHS
tina.oliver@kayenta.k12.az.us

Sophia Quotskuyva
VI Teacher
Sophia.Quotskuyva@asdb.az.gov
(928) 606.8349

Sabrenia West
SLP Tele-Therapist
sabrenia.west@gmail.com
(678) 725.4628

Keith White
O&M Specialist
keith.white@asdb..az.gov
(928) 774.6825

Jessica Winandy
Physical Therapist
jmwinandypt@gmail.com
(480) 339.9551

Tracy Yazzie
Health KES
tracy.yazzie@kayenta.k12.az.us